Insights From Wapiti

Advice, news and thought leadership from our experts.

Interstate Medical Licensure Compact Qualifications Explained

The Interstate Medical Licensure Compact (IMLC) provides a streamlined process for qualified physicians to obtain licenses in multiple states, enhancing patient access to medical care and creating flexibility for healthcare providers. With the shortage of physicians in the United States, the ability to practice across state lines has become increasingly important. However, not everyone can participate in this compact. Let’s explore the qualifications needed to be eligible for the Interstate Medical Licensure Compact.


State of Principal Licensure (SPL) Requirements for Interstate Medical Licensure Compact

The first crucial qualification is holding a full, unrestricted medical license in a compact-member state available to serve as your State of Principal Licensure (SPL). This state will act as your primary licensing authority within the compact. To meet the SPL criteria, at least one of the following conditions must apply:

  1. Primary Residence: Your primary residence is in the SPL.
  2. Practice Percentage: At least 25% of your medical practice occurs in the SPL.
  3. Employment: Your employer is located in the SPL.
  4. Tax Residence: You use the SPL as your state of residence for U.S. federal income tax purposes.

It’s important to note that physicians must always maintain their SPL status. While you can change the location of your SPL through a process known as “redesignation” after receiving your Compact Letter of Qualification, adherence to SPL rules is a crucial component of maintaining eligibility for the Interstate Medical Licensure Compact.

General Qualifications

In addition to SPL requirements, physicians must meet several general qualifications to be eligible for the Interstate Medical Licensure Compact. These include:

  1. Education: Graduation from an accredited medical school or a school listed in the International Medical Education Directory or its equivalent, such as the World Directory of Medical Schools.
  2. Medical Education: Completing ACGME- or AOA-accredited graduate medical education (GME).
  3. Examinations: Passing each component of the USMLE, COMLEX-USA, or equivalent predecessor exam accepted by the state medical board in no more than three attempts for each component. It’s important to note that passing the Canadian Licentiate of the Medical Council of Canada or the LMCC does not meet this requirement.
  4. Specialty Certification: Holding a current specialty or time-unlimited certification by an ABMS or AOABOS board.
  5. Disciplinary History: Having no history of disciplinary actions toward your medical license.
  6. Criminal Record: No criminal history.
  7. Controlled Substance Actions: No history of controlled substance actions toward your license.
  8. Investigation Status: Not currently being under investigation.

Furthermore, all applicants are subject to a background check, with fingerprinting requirements varying from state to state. If required, your State of Principal Licensure will communicate the fingerprinting information, emphasizing the importance of coordination between the provider and the designated state authority.

In conclusion, the qualifications for participating in the Interstate Medical Licensure Compact are comprehensive and designed to ensure that healthcare providers possess the necessary credentials, ethical standing, and commitment to quality care. By meeting these criteria, physicians can seamlessly navigate the complex web of state medical licensure, ultimately contributing to improved accessibility and efficiency in healthcare delivery across state borders.

Ready to begin your locum career or looking for your next opportunity! Check out our Jobs Page!